Print This Page

Major Projects

Partnership with the East Texas Geriatric Education Center-Consortium (ETGEC-C)
Texas AHEC East partners with the The ETGEC-C to provide geriatric-oriented medical education and clinical training for health professionals and students in health professions within a 72-county area of East Texas. This area is served by 5 Texas AHEC East Regional Operations – Waco, Coastal, Piney Woods, Victoria and North Central. These regions are more than 80% rural and above the national and state average in percent elderly (65+), particularly older minorities. Professional disciplines targeted by the ETGEC-C include medicine, nursing, social work and allied health professions (physician assistants, physical therapy, and occupational therapy.

Comparative Effectiveness Research on Cancer in Texas – CERCIT
is a research initiative that impacts clinical cancer care for Texans. The project is committed to sharing findings with the general public, cancer survivors, healthcare professionals, and policymakers, broadening the typical audience of researchers and physicians. The 9 regional operations of Texas AHEC East are partnering with CERCIT investigators to share information from the project in their communities. Read More

Improving HPV Immunization Rates on a National Scale Utilizing the National AHEC Network: A CDC Funded Project
This 5-year collaborative partnership between the National AHEC Organization and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention is to improve national immunization rates of 11 and 12 year old males and females against the human papillomavirus (HPV). Texas AHEC East Piney Woods Regional Operation is coordinating a statewide training effort to improve clinician understanding of the vaccine.

Health Partnership Community Assessments
Texas AHEC East participated in the Region 2 Health Partnership community assessments for 16 counties in conjunction with the Texas Medicaid 1115 Demonstration Waiver.  The assessments identified what people participating in Medicaid or who may be eligible for Medicaid  believed about health issues, health services and health resources in the community.  The Qualitative Community Health Assessments for all 16 counties can be read and are listed below.

Angelina County
Brazoria County
Galveston County
Hardin County
Jasper County
Jefferson County
Liberty County
Nacogdoches County
Newton County
Orange County
Polk County
Sabine County
San Augustine County
San Jacinto County
Shelby County
Tyler County